Francisco Márquez

Born in Buenos Aires, Argentina in 1981, Francisco Márquez studied at ENERC where he now works as a teacher. His first documentary, Después de Sarmiento (After Sarmiento, 2015), screened at several international festivals. His debut feature film, La larga noche de Francisco Sanctis (The Long Night of Francisco Sanctis, 2016), featured in the Un Certain Regard section at Cannes.

His last feature film, Un crimen común (A Common Crime), had its world premiere at the 70th Berlin International Films Festival 2020.


  • 2020 A Common Crime
  • 2019 Mother-Child (Documentary)
  • 2018 Athens
  • 2016 The Long Night of Francisco Sanctis
  • 2016 Pibe chorro (Documentary)
  • 2015 After Sarmiento (Documentary)
  • 2015 The Absent Ones