Lisandro Alonso

Born in 1975 in Buenos Aires, Lisandro Alonso studied for three years at the Universidad del Cine. His first feature film, La Libertad, which focuses on the relationship between a lonely lumberjack and his environment, premiered in Cannes in the section Un Certain Regard. After creating his own production company 4L, Alonso returned to Cannes in 2004 with Los Muertos, which premiered in the Directors Fortnight. Two years later, he completed his trilogy with Fantasma. In 2008, the director decided to lean toward a more fictional approach with Liverpool, following a young sailor looking for his mother in the lost villages of Tierra del Fuego. Five years later, Jauja, set in 19th century Denmark and Argentina and starring Danish actor Viggo Mortensen, won the FIPRESCI award in the section Un Certain Regard. Ten years after this dazzling film, Alonso surrounds himself with a renowned cast, with Viggo Mortensen, Chiara Mastroianni and Maria de Medeiros, in his new feature film EUREKA premiered at Cannes Première.


  • 2023 Eureka
  • 2014 Jauja
  • 2008 Liverpool
  • 2006 Fantasma
  • 2004 Los muertos
  • 2001 La libertad