Triangle of Sadness

« The thing about Östlund is that he makes you laugh, but he also makes you think. There’s a meticulous precision to the way he constructs, blocks and executes scenes — a kind of agonizing unease, amplified by awkward silences or an unwelcome fly buzzing between characters struggling to communicate. First “The Square,” then “Triangle.” No matter what sphere he tackles, we’re bound to see the world differently. »


Models Carl and Yaya are navigating the world of fashion while exploring the boundaries of their relationship. The couple are invited for a luxury cruise with a rogues’ gallery of super-rich passengers, a Russian oligarch, British arms dealers and an idiosyncratic, alcoholic, Marx- quoting captain. At first, all appears Instagrammable. But a storm is brewing, and heavy seasickness hits the passengers during the seven-course captain’s dinner.

The cruise ends catastrophically. Carl and Yaya find themselves marooned on a desert island with a group of billionaires and one of the ship’s cleaners. Hierarchy is suddenly flipped upside down, as the housekeeper is the only one who knows how to fish.

Festivals & Awards

  • 75th Cannes Film Festival: International Competition, Palme d’or 2022



  • 2022 Triangle of Sadness
  • 2017 The Square
  • 2014 Snow Therapy
  • 2011 Play
  • 2010 Händelse vid bank (Incident bancaire)
  • 2008 Happy Sweden
  • 2005 The Guitar Mongoloid


Harris Dickinson, Charlbi Dean, Woody Harrelson, Vicki Berlin, Henrik Dorsin, Zlatko Burić, Jean-Christophe Folly, Iris Berben, Dolly De Leon, Sunnyi Melles, Amanda Walker, Oliver Ford Davies, Arvin Kananian, Carolina Gynning, Ralph Schicha


Script: Ruben Östlund
Cinematography: Fredrik Wenzel
Sound: Andreas Franck, Bent Holm
Editing: Ruben Östlund, Mikel Cee Karlsson
Producers: Erik Hemmendorff, Philippe Bober
Co-producers: Julio Chavezmontes, Per Damgaard Hansen, Giorgos Karnavas, Konstantinos Kontovrakis, Marina Perales Marhuenda
Executive producers: Brina Elizabeta Blaz, Alessandro Del Vigna, Dan Friedkin, Ryan Friedkin, Mike Goodridge, Micah Green, Andreas Roald, Jim Stark, Daniel Steinman, Bradley Thomas, Dan Wechsler, Jamal Zeinal-Zade
Production: Plattform Produktion (SE)
Co-production: Essential Films (DE), Coproduction Office (FR), SVT (SE), ZDF/Arte (DE), Arte France Cinéma (FR),  TRT (TR)
In association with: Heretic Films (US), Bord Cadre films (CH), Sovereign Films (UK), Piano (MX)

Technical data

Format: DCP / colour / 5.1
Runtime: 149′
Released: 2022
Language: English
Subtitles: French